scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

Opinions are divided on whether should the use of a universal language be encouraged or not. Although I acknowledge the drawbacks of such language, I strongly believe that the disadvantages of using it are eclipsed by its advantages. Many believe there should be a diversity of languages to preserve the cultural heritage of different countries. It is without a doubt that each language bears certain unique traits that can not be imitated or replicated. Therefore, they inspire as well as give birth to myriad forms of art, without which our life would be dull and tedious. Nevertheless, from my perspective, these cultural features can be translated into shared and collective knowledge with the help of a global language, which later generations would greatly benefit from it. Advocators of the use of a mono- language including myself, point to the practicality and convenience that it provides. Regarding the former, English, which has been around for centuries, is now used by dozens of countries all around the world. Due to the inherent wide coverage of this language, other countries will eventually shift to using English as a common tongue. If all countries used the same language, we would eliminate one of the greatest issues of humanity which is the language barrier. Furthermore, people all over the world would benefit substantially as travel, business, and education can be conducted without much hassle since everyone can understand each other perfectly. For example, people can immigrate to other countries to pursue their aspirations, such as going to a prestigious university or doing their dream job. In conclusion, it is non-negotiable that, thanks to a wide variety of languages, we have multiple different forms of cultural heritage that carry our traditions and identities. However, I wholeheartedly support the use of one universal language as humanity can enjoy its aforementioned benefits as a whole.