Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

People tend to settle down in another farther city or country when grow up nowadays, but some do not like to do so. They, in contrast, choose to live in a place close to their hometown. This essay will outline some of the reasons as well as what I consider to be the advantages and disadvantages. Seeking a similar environment to their own home may be the main reason for people to spend time living in a close-distant city. They may fear being a failure while living in a far place where they do not have any relatives, friends or the same atmosphere. Living nearer can also allow them to visit their parents and hang around with friends regularly while there is not much impact on their daily life. Needless to say, there are some benefits of living near home. One is the strong social network that they have built since they were small. They can get support from it in terms of emotional, financial and business issues. For example, when people need to deal with the local office to have the paperwork done within 2 days, but the process requires 3 days, then at this point, their relationship may help to boost the procedure quicker. Another one is that they do not need to feel insecure about life. Living in the same city, they may have all the basic things such as a house and a car. All they need to do is to work a 9-to-5 shift daily and spend the rest of their time with their family. Despite its advantages, several drawbacks are outlined too. First of all, it is a job opportunity. Living in a small city may provide a limited number of jobs. Indeed, there are not many chances for them to change and thus their income may have lesser than people who seek the opportunity in a different city. Moreover, when they are dealing with routine jobs and tasks, their mindsets are not broadened either. Take one visa company in Beijing for an example. When they deal with only a group of Japanese customers, then they assume that Vietnamese customers can travel to Hong Kong without a visa as the Japanese do, resulting in them being set for illegal migration fine at Hong Kong custom port. In conclusion, living where people were born good or bad depends on each person's perspective. However, I still believe that it is better to experience some places different from one's own home to broaden horizons and have better job opportunities.