Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good for the world of sports, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There is a controversial perspective: heating up a debate over sponsoring for sports is an effective method to spread companies’ reputation. While some hold a strong view that it is beneficial for sports’ world, the opposite claim that it can bring drawbacks for sports. While the latter is valid to some extent, I would consider myself a supporter of the former. For a long time, the investment in promoting the image of the enterprise has taken place as a common sight. By doing so, not only brands can make profit but also do good to the tournament or campaign, especially sports promotion. Organizing a tournament requires a lot of money, without the sponsorship from the brands the tournament will not be possible. For example, coca has been the official sponsor of the world cup since 1978 in order to help football enthusiasts enjoy the professional tournament. Hence, sponsoring sports brings a myriad of beneficial impacts on the sports world. While the advantage of sponsoring for sports is widely acknowledged, its drawback still linger. Some companies have relied on sponsoring large sports programs, which have huge viewership, with a view to promoting products or services that adversely affect consumers. For instance, Bia Sai Gon, one of the biggest beer producers in VietNam, sponsored Leicesster and attracted a large number of fans of the club thereby motivating them to use products that are harmful to health. Therefore, sponsoring will cause some demerits for world of sports. To sum up, although harmful in some respects, sponsorship is still one of the effective ways to help the sports’ world.