It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many people consider it important to take risks in their careers and personal life. In my opinion, I agree that this mentality would outweigh its drawbacks, but only if one knows exactly what is worth risking for, which will be further explained in this essay. First and foremost, being risky allows people to step out of their comfort zone. To be specific, there are many times when people hesitate to do things, such as quitting a job to start a startup or applying for a prestigious university that they admire. Therefore, taking risks requires them to do them anyway even if they may not go as planned. In return, they will gain something else, such as a valuable lesson or experience which will be useful for their next attempts. Secondly, taking risks helps people become more experienced and confident. Indeed, by knowing that mistakes can be corrected and failures are only temporary, people will no longer worry about having to constantly succeed in whatever they do. As a result, this mindset will significantly increase their knowledge and hands-on experience, as well as help them to lead a more fulfilling life. Therefore, it is necessary for one to take risks for personal and career development. Although beneficial, it is even more important to know what and when to be risky. For instance, people should think twice before they act in unsafe situations that may threaten their life, health, and financial well-being such as taking drugs, gambling, or engaging in risky businesses. In addition, while taking risks, it is vital for individuals to obey the law from the authorities. To illustrate, it is appropriate to try alcoholic beverages but absolutely not when driving, or it is legal to start a business but not evade taxation. Therefore, regardless of how fruitful the prize may be, each individual needs to consider carefully their actions before attempting to do anything that is not conventional. In conclusion, I strongly believe that people should take risks in their life every once in a while to be more confident and step out of their comfort zone, but it is also important to think thoroughly and weigh up the pros and cons before doing anything risky so as not to violate the laws as well as not hurting themselves.