Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than complete become more successful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

People have different views about whether adolescents should be taught to be competitive or cooperative. While a spirit of competition can sometimes be useful in life, I believe that the ability to co-operate is more important. On the one hand, competition can be a great source of motivation for younger students. When teachers use games or prizes to introduce an element of competitiveness into lessons, it can encourage the primary students to work harder to outdo the other pupils in the class. This kind of healthy rivalry may help to build their self-confidence, while pushing them to work independently and progress more quickly. When these children leave school, their confidence and determination will help them in competitive situations such as job interviews. It can therefore be argued that competition should be encouraged in order to prepare children better for their future life. There are many reasons why I support the proposal that we should teach our younger pupils to be cooperative. This practice/attempt enables us to learn from each other. In this way, we would have higher efficiency and quality of production. Furthermore, the attempt can help foster confidence among schollers. Having such confidence and determination would enable them to cooperate in complex workplaces. For example, when they enter society, they will face challenges that require them to work together. If they lack the ability to cooperate, they will be defeated in a fierce environment. In conclusion, I can understand the reason why individuals tip the balance in favour of teaching students to compete, I would argue that they can benefit more from cooperation.