Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Road accidents have become a prominent issue nowadays all around the globe. It is argued by some people that the key strategy to minimize road accidents is to punish people strictly for traffic violations. While others of the opinion that road safety can be enhanced by other ways which could be more effective for reducing these incidents. I will discuss the significance of both standpoints in the following paragraphs with examples. Harsh punishment is considered to be one of the most effective measures to overcome the high rate of breaking traffic rules among the public. Firstly, it induces the fear of being penalized by the government law. In other words, people do not want to suffer from any kind of punishment and eventually end up obeying rules. Secondly, if someone has been charged with committing these crimes, it would set an example for others to showcase the outcomes of not following the rules. For instance, research shows that several cases at 70% in India have been reduced by implementing this method of creating fear in people's minds. In contrast, other ways should be taken into consideration first while thinking about road accidents, even though the above-given way can be successful. This includes educating the individuals regarding traffic laws from their childhood and during their adult phase. They might be not aware of these regulations. Therefore, it is imperative to make them aware of these as well as the consequences of not considering these principles. For illustration, in China, children are educated from the beginning of their school till their graduation. They become more civilized and disciplined youth of the country and follow all rules. Hence, education could be the most effective way to change the mindset. In conclusion, a huge number of moving offenders can be seen in today's world. Even though harsh penalties are effective for those who are found guilty of crossing their boundaries to break traffic laws, education can be another way where youth should be taught about the rules and regulations to combat these issues. I believe everyone should be acknowledged first with the same rather than stepping for punishment straightaway.