It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that taking risks is really vital not only in our careers but also in our personal matters. In my point of view, even though taking risks can cause both benefits and drawbacks, the former outweighs the latter. It is undoubtedly certain that risks can give advantages to human beings. First and foremost, it can help the career advancement of people since the higher the position, the more risks people can face. Risks can also enlarge our horizons, which means implementing challenging things can boost our confidence, knowledge, satisfaction and belief. For instance, a person who has completed an adventurous sport like scuba diving may be proud of himself and is willing to accept more adventurous things in the future. Similarly, in professional life, a person who can make a risky decision and gain profits from that may feel confident to make more such risky decisions for his career advancement. That’s why risks can encourage a person to improve. On the other hand, risks can also ruin a person ’s life. For example, my uncle who invested almost all his possessions and started a new business by taking risks faced failure, and then he committed suicide since he lost all his possessions and could not pay the debt. Therefore, if a person who is not mentally strong takes risks, there can be a serious case. Some people sacrifice their life and take risks in order to get more success. However, they lose everything and have to start their life in a situation which is worse than their previous status. Not only in professional lives, doing risky extreme sports can make a person disabled, even death. That’s why, taking risks cannot always give success and improvement in life. In conclusion, it is clear that risk is a combination of both success and failure. However, we should take risks to enhance our life ’s quality since life is too short and we should not waste our time by waiting for the chance.