Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

In my parts of the world, children should spend more time on active and creative activities. However, recently, the number of children who watch too much TV and do not participate in active activities are increasingly popular. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons and measures for that. Let’s start by looking at the reasons. Firstly, children's television programs are broadcast all day with addictive content such as vivid animations and colours that make children not interested in everything around them. Secondly, parents nowadays are busy with their work, so they want children to focus on an activity that does not require much of their attention, such as watching television. These two reasons tend to make children spend more time in front of the television screen instead of participating in active or creative activities. Turning to the other side of the solutions. First of all, parents should limit their children's device time by only allowing them to watch TV for a certain period of time. For example, my young brother only gets to watch tv one hour after dinner. Another possible solution is that parents can spend more time with their children participating in outdoor or creative activities. Parents should take their children to go out such as going picnic or going to the zoo if they get good grades. In conclusion, the number of TV shows significantly increases for children and parents spend less time with their children, those are the two main reasons leading to the increase in children's TV viewing time. Therefore, parents should spend more time playing sports on weekends with their kids or let them participate in gifted classes to limit TV watching.