People nowadays tend to have children at older ages.Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

In the recent time, people are likely to give birth to offspring in their later years. Although having children in old age give parents the opportunity of having a companion around them and also prepare for their upbringing mentally and financially but the complications arising from the process of delivery may not be reversible. I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. This essay will further give reasons, examples and logical conclusions. On the one hand, couples do not want to start a complete family early due to the economic recession happening globally without being stable in their finances and mental status so that they could raise mature and responsible children. In addition, most parents are afraid of being alone at home in their fifties because grown-ups leave guardians at this stage to secure the future. For example, In Nigeria, it has become a norm now that women deliver babies at forty so that the children will still be around in their seventies and they have acquired wealth to care for them. I am of the opinion that the goal of keeping them around later in life can be achieved by adopting babies from registered institutions without passing through the rigorous process of pregnancy and delivery. On the other hand, the stages of being pregnant to the birth of a newborn take a minimum of nine months whereby the body will experience various changes such as skin colour changes, immune system and so on. The system of elderly women may find it difficult to adjust to these changes where in difficulties like intrapartum and postpartum haemorrhage, cervical laceration may occur during delivery and if not managed well by experts may result in death. For example, A woman,who dies while giving birth cannot raise the child even if she had kept fortune for the child's training. Death is irredeemable,if it happened but can be avoided if they accept to adopt a child. To conclude, it is good that childbirth in old age is a welcome idea but the complications resulting from it do not warrant taking the risk of doing such. I opine that the drawbacks surpass the benefit.