The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying that teamwork ability plays an increasingly significant role nowadays. Some people think of team sports at school as the best way for children to learn about cooperation. As for my perspective, I am strongly opposed to this argument, and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated as follows. First of all, it is unrealistic to expect every individual to actively participate in the curriculum; therefore, they might fail to accumulate any experience in teamwork. For example, when I studied in senior high school, our school put great emphasis on physical education, especially for activities that required classmates to work well with each other. However, since exercising at school was exhausting for me, I would rather stay in the corner and chat with friends instead of joining the games. Therefore, I did not acquire any skills regarding teamwork even though our school provided abundant resources about it. Secondly, children’s physical characteristics vary widely, making it difficult for some groups of people to engage in certain team sports. According to a study from National Taiwan University, approximately 10 per cent of teenagers suffer from asthma. Hence, they are not allowed to do the majority of strenuous exercises for safety reasons, which means that team sports at school would not benefit this group of people. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, teaching children to be cooperative through team sports at school is not an ideal policy due to the concerns of children’s willingness to join the class and their physical differences.