it is too expensive to look after and repair old building. This money should be spent on building modern building instead. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed by some people that preserving ancient buildings is more costly rather than creating modern buildings such as skyscrapers. I certainly disagree with this statement because there are several benefits to taking care of the heritage building, such as becoming a tourist place an education purpose. I will elaborate more on my point of view below. Preserving heritage building by the government should be embraced in many countries because it creates new economic activities. To begin with, a more ancient buildings which came from the medieval era should be well maintained, by doing this, it could be a great tourist place and attract visitor to come, as a,result local economy business will be increased and possibly become a good income for local communities by selling merchandise or being a local guide. Another benefit, this can be an educational centre of history subjects for students, thus the students could take a lesson learned about culture and identity. For instance, Edinburgh is one of the popular cities which preserved a medieval building for attracting visitors to come to Scotland and earn a big money from tourism. On the other hand, some countries prefer to build new buildings because they want to be known as a modern city. Firstly, progressive architecture such as skyscrapers is made because of land availability in metropolitan cities. Besides, a tall building is more expensive caused of it should be equipped with high-safety equipment and structured to prevent casualties from earthquake hazard. In addition, modern buildings only have a short lifetime around 25 to 30 years compared to old building have 100 to 500 years old. Thus, they do not have something uniqueness which obligated the authorities to preserve it in the long run. To summarise, although some countries prefer more budget to build e new modern buildings, preserving old architecture buildings has lots of benefits for local businesses and education learning. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the statement above.