Even after the Covid-19 pandemic is over, some companies are thinking of using a hybrid approach when it comes to working from home and on-site. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working on-site?

Some businesses and employers are still adopting the practice of the hybrid system, which promotes both working at the office and working at home despite the post-covid pandemic. In this essay, I will explore the pros and cons of working on-site. There are two main benefits to this professional arrangement of working at the workplace. Firstly, networking opportunities can be grasped when one works at his office as he can meet his work colleagues and has the chance to make friends with them. For example, a beer or dinner session can be made after working hours in the evening to expand his network. Secondly, working on-site or at the office provides enormous productivity when compared to working from home; moreover, distractions can be reduced and a person can concentrate properly on his work if he is at his workstation. There is a tendency for a person to focus more on his work if he is at his work, because he is working with other colleagues, and there are also some eyes such as CCTV cameras as well as other peers. On the other hand, some disadvantages may be noted. In the first place, people have to commute to reach their work, spending some transportation fares. It takes more time for people who are living far away from their office. Some people from other cities, for instance, have to travel about an hour to reach their work in Japan even though they are taking fast-speed trains (bullet trains). Furthermore, there is limited flexibility to work in a workplace. For example, working in an office feels like everybody is watching, and one has to keep working and watching the computer screen although there is no work to do. In conclusion, there are both positives and negatives to this type of work. In spite of the fact that a person can extend his networking and provide more work productivity, there are some drawbacks to commuting and limited flexibility. Personally, I believe it is important to station at work during work hours to keep a work -life balance.