Housing and accommodation has become a major problem in many countries around the world. What are the main factors that have contributed to this problem? What can be done to help reduce the number of homeless people?

The phenomenon of the housing crisis is pervasive around the world, and some people could not afford to buy houses and properties for their living. This essay will look at the reasons for this and propose some solutions. There are several reasons why this situation is prevalent in many nations. Firstly, the world’s population is growing and, it needs more housing and accommodations in order to cope with the current world population. This has led to enormous investment in housing, and land and property prices are skyrocketing. In Singapore, for instance, the property price is double, compared to the price three years ago. Secondly, some rich people buy more land and accommodations as an investment. This has become housing prices to increase, and low and middle-income people could not afford to buy houses or apartments. Various possible courses of action could be taken to tackle the above. In the first place, the local government has to set some arrangements for impoverished and low-income people, such as building affordable housing, low mortgage or low-interest rate for loans. For example, there is a scheme, in Australia, that some regional government provides a co-shared plan for buying a house. In addition, a government can enact a legal law or set a limit for its citizens to buy limited properties with tax. For example, in Singapore, a couple can buy only an apartment and a private property such as a condominium for the maximum. In conclusion, various factors such as population growth, skyrocketing home prices and unlimited buying of properties by some businessmen, have led to difficulty for some citizens to own houses. This is a serious problem, and unless the government controls this situation by means of enforcing necessary laws, and guidelines and providing grants or affordable properties to needy and homeless people. My view is that the main responsibility for solving this problem lies with the government.