In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. What are the advantages and disadvantages of driverless vehicles?

It is often believed that self-driving cars will become popular in the future, and those who commute inside these vehicles will be humans. In spite of the advantages of this trend, I believe that it also brings some negative impacts. On the one hand, there are several positive effects that autonomous cars bring. Firstly, driver-free vehicles help to reduce human errors. It can be explained by the fact that the vast majority of accidents caused by reckless driving behaviours such as speeding and driving while intoxicated are rising and humans are the main culprit. To reduce this serious problem, driverless cars are a suitable solution to solve this. Secondly, the application of autonomous cars can also help the government to save expenses on maintaining and upgrading traffic facilities. When vehicles are controlled by machines, there would be less need to invest money in installing speeding cameras or maintaining road signs. This will therefore save a lot of money in the government’s budget. On the other hand, this trend brings some drawbacks. To begin with, driver-free automobiles pose some risks including accidents and casualties. To be more specific, if there is a malfunction of the navigation system, it will jeopardise passengers in cars. According to U.S. safety regulators, Tesla driverless cars were involved in 273 cases of car crashes, which happened on account of such technical glitches. The company consequently received a lot of backlash from the public and had to work with engineers to tackle the issue. In addition, self-driving automobiles might result in a higher level of unemployment. Specifically, employees who earn a living by driving taxis or trucks will find themselves out of a job due to the fact that these vehicles are now being programmed to perform their tasks automatically. As a consequence, it is challenging for these people to look for another job. In conclusion, although self-driving vehicles have some upsides, they also bring some negative impacts to users and society.