Some people say that the best way to improve the overall general health of the public is to offer more sport facilities. Others say that this would have little effect and other measures are necessary to improve public health. Discuss both views.

A major problem societies face in the twenty-first century is the decline in the level of public health, due in large part to sedentary lifestyles and poor eating habits. While some feel that this can be best tackled by the provision of more sports facilities, others argue that there are better options. I will examine both and explain why, despite the appeal to some people, simply promoting would not be effective in improving people ’s health. Certainly, building more sports facilities can be beneficial to some extent. Even though the importance of exercise is well-known, in many areas there are limited opportunities for the general public to exercise safely and affordably. In Kolkata, there are very few places for people to play sports or exercise, which may explain the soaring obesity rate there. If the government funded amenities such as public exercise areas, swimming pools or tennis courts, more people would have access to them and be able to improve their fitness levels. In such areas, this may approve a viable solution. This policy, however, does have its limitation. Indeed, some people are simply not interested in sports, regardless of whether they are free and convenient facilities available. For them, alternative measures are needed in order to improve health. Imposing higher taxes on junk food could be one way to do so, as this would deter many from choosing the cheap yet nutrient-deficient option. Another option is for the government to implement strategies throughout primary and high school to boost awareness of nutrition and the importance of regular physical activity. In conclusion, only focusing on the provision of sports facilities may not have the desired result of improving the general health of the public. Adopting an overall healthier lifestyle should be encouraged, which incorporates both a certain amount of physical exercise as well as healthy eating habits.