Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Globally, crime continues to be a pervasive problem. To tackle it, some support longer prison terms, while others feel that alternative measures, including rehabilitation and education, are better options. In this essay, I will examine both views and explain why I feel the programs in prison are the key to crime prevention. For many, the solution to crime seems to be simple; lock criminals up for longer. They claim that by removing dangerous people from societies, citizens are safer. Indeed, when it comes to murderers or violent offenders who show no remorse for their crime, such as Martin Bryan, a convicted Australian mass murderer, it does seem logical to throw away the key. Supporters of this method argue that doing so teaches criminals a lesson, protects society, and serves to deter others as well. Another group, however, feel that extending imprisonment is not the answer and that other methods would be more effective. For them, it is more important to treat the underlying causes of the offences. If a criminal is addicted to drugs, for instance, simply putting them in prison will not prevent them from re-offending upon release. Instead, the prison program should include substance abuse counselling and rehabilitation. When a prisoner is helped to overcome addiction, manage mental illness or control anger issues, they are much less likely to re-offend upon release. In my view, I agree that alternative measures would be more effective in most situations. Given the high recidivism rates of ex-prisoners, over 80% in some areas, it is clear that what happens inside prison is important. For the majority of offenders, rehabilitation and education while incarcerated could change the course of their life. Indeed, these have proven effective in a country like Norway, where crime and re-offending rates plummeted as a result. While such programs may be expensive, and perhaps unpopular with taxpayers, ultimately, reforming criminals can benefit society as a whole. In conclusion, lengthening jail terms may seem like a simple and effective solution and a way to keep society safe, at least in the short term. In the long run, however, it is necessary to deal with the root causes of criminality and offer an offender a future beyond crime.