Some people think government should tax unhealthy food to encourage people to begin to eat more healthy foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is widely believed that increasing the tax on unhealthy food options encourages individuals to alternate their lifestyles into a more healthy diet. Personally, I can neither completely agree nor disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons. I partly agree that increasing the cost of unhealthy, detrimental food items can encourage individuals to consume healthier alternatives considering the prices of weight-inducing products. When unhealthy food becomes more expensive, people are more likely to reconsider their choices to fit with their budget, therefore forcing them to seek healthier food options. For example, if the cost of a sugary beverage is significantly higher than a bottle of juice, many individuals will be more inclined to choose the cheaper option, hence, reducing the amount of calorie consumption. On the other hand, I disagree with the viewpoint of raising the prices of unhealthy food options. This is because the problem of obesity relies far beyond the factor of money, it is also dependent on other social aspects including cultural influences, and psychological factors that all contribute to shaping an individual's eating habits. As a result of this, tackling the problem by increasing the pricing of less nutritious options does not address the underlying factors. If people choose to consume detrimental food options, increasing the price does not create much impact considering they already inherit the habit of eating so. Therefore, without effectively addressing the roots of the issue, which can be done through educating, and enabling clearer food labeling, increasing the price of unhealthy products is an ineffective solution. In conclusion, although increasing the tax on unhealthy products to encourage a healthier lifestyle can be effective to a certain extent, I'm convinced that it is more crucial to approach the problem in more aspects through education rather than focusing on the cost of products only.