Some people think that the goverment sould be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Many people believe that the state should protect them from crime, but others argue that everyone has to defend themselves. In my opinion, security in society is the direct duty of authorities, although there could be some budget drawbacks. On the one hand, general crime prevention requires an enormous amount of money and resources, so private initiatives may not be efficient. Here is when it comes to the government, as it is the wealthiest player in the economy and can afford global programs such as former prisoners rehabilitation in order to prevent reoffends and fight poverty and drug traffic. It is quite difficult for a particular individual to control all of this, otherwise the situation with the crime will go out of hand causing people to feel insecure and resulting in social tension. On the other hand, if it was individuals’ responsibility to protect themselves, budget money would be used for more appropriate purposes. In that case, the number of policemen and security agents can be reduced, as maintenance of police consumes a lot of taxes, which could be diverted to the public sector like healthcare and education. Some changes in the school programme might be done like adding courses of self-defence and lessons increasing awareness of consequences of committing a crime, thus this approach can deter youngsters from illegal activity. In conclusion, despite the fact that preventing crimes by the government requires a lot of money, I believe that there is nothing more valuable than human life; therefore, the safety of individuals should be a priority.