Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

The best way to connect the globe is trade since goods are imported and exported owing to their demand. It is often debated that there is no harm while importing food items, however, many oppose such an idea and are in favour of promoting local food products which are eco-friendly as well as affordable. Therefore, I believe that the advantages of promoting local food businesses outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, it is the primary responsibility of any government to facilitate the local industry, either the agriculture sector, automobile, or manufacturing firms owing to multiple fruitful benefits. Since raw material used in the food industry mostly comes from rural areas and such regions lack even the basic necessities of life. Therefore, the promotion of local food products means developing these less privileged areas of the country and uplifting their lives and livelihood. In addition, homemade products are supposed to be affordable, and their availability can be ensured. Also, local products are used as a tool to build the soft image of the country globally. On the contrary, many brand-oriented foody people prefer to have the food of their own choice regardless of their origin. Moreover, if such items are imported it tends to deplete the foreign reserves, which eventually affect the country's economic condition. Furthermore, due to changes taking place constantly in the supply chain, the prices of the imported commodity are not stable, and in some instances can be soared. In addition, the shortage of such luxuries meant you must pay high prices to get your desired item. In a nutshell, though it is very vital for nations to be connected via means of trade and business since it is a great way to boost your economy as well as the soft image. However, this should not come at the price of affecting the local manufacturing or agriculture sector.