An increasing number of people choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their apperance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, a rising number of people choose to undergo cosmetic surgery to transform their appearance. This essay will explore the reasons behind this rise in popularity and explain why I believe that it has detrimental impacts on people's life. To begin with, there are 2 main factors why people opt for plastic surgery. First, one of the most common reasons/ one key reason behind this surge in cosmetic surgery is to boost self-confidence. In fact, many people are dissatisfied with their appearance and believe that cosmetic surgery such as breast augmentation or liposuction can help them feel better about their face or their body. Another justification is that people are affected by the beauty standards on social media. They might be afraid of missing out on the societal beauty standards, which in their opinion may lead to the feeling of being unacceptable by society and the only way to pass that pressure is to take the surgery. Although taking cosmetic surgery is an individual choice, I advocate that taking cosmetic surgery has several negative aspects to consider. One concern is the potential for complications or side effects. All surgeries come with risks, and cosmetic surgery is no exception. Some people may experience pain, swelling, or infection after the procedure. In some cases, some people may not achieve the results they were hoping for, leading to disappointment and frustration. With regard to the social level, it deletes the beauty of different shapes. Each person is born with a different type of face, and shape. However, this kind of surgery is always conducted through a unique shape, which might make all the people look the same. In conclusion, more and more people are opting for cosmetic operations to enhance their physical appearance since they want to be more confident and follow the emerging beauty standards on social media. Nonetheless, I contend that it poses a threat not only to personal health but also to the various forms of beauty in society.