Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world, there are constant traffic jams. How true you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

Many people say that the increasing number of car owners has resulted in heavy traffic jams in many cities across the world. In this essay, I will discuss this situation and explain what governments should do to prevent people from buying their own cars. In my opinion, there is no doubt that car traffic is a serious problem governments have recently been dealing with, especially in large cities. This is because the vast majority of the infrastructure projects on public transportation improvement have not kept up with the quick growth of cities, leading people to have their own vehicles. In London, for example, the roads are too narrow to support the number of vehicles, which results in heavy traffic jams where drivers spend hours driving a few kilometres. As a result, traffic might be the greatest issue that is simultaneously happening in large cities, as most of them report it daily both in developed and developing countries. Having said that, the most effective measure that governments can implement to solve this problem is focusing on public transportation improvements. This means that, if the population had had access to high-quality transportation, such as trains and buses, for a fair price and that could take them to remote locations, they would not have preferred to buy their own cars. For instance, there are model cities where public transportation works outstandingly, so most of the residents do not have a car. Therefore, it is clear that if government invest more in transportation infrastructure, people will be discouraged from owning cars. To sum up, it is obvious that many large cities around the world have been facing extremely heavy traffic jams, which could be tackled if governments start to turn their attention to investments in projects to improve public transportation.