International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

In recent years, there has been a profound increase in the number of people questioning the benefit of international tourism. On the one hand, these individuals can do more harm than good. Alternatively, one major benefit is that such travel will boost the financial systems. To begin, there is an argument to be made that even though globetrotters have substantially revived economies, they have also acted as a detriment, both to the local inhabitants and to the environment. For instance, Jamaica welcomes numerous vacationers to their island daily, however, due to their means of transportation and their accrual of waste products, there has been an incremental rise in pollution in both the air and ocean. For this reason, it is evident that foreign visitors build up more landfill, bringing distress to marine animals and escalating health risks for the locals. What is more, it cannot be denied that these wrongdoings can culminate in innumerable downfalls across the country in due time. This being the case, it is not unreasonable to assume that by minimizing the number of international tourists, the amount of ecological burden will also lessen. Nonetheless, despite the disadvantages outlined above, there is a growing body of evidence to suggest that the enhancement of consumerism derived from holiday goers significantly outweighs their negative impact. To exemplify this, Indonesia has sustained a more stable economy over the last decade and has resolved its long-lasting problem of unemployment and poverty. Therefore, it is undeniable that tourism is vital to aid in fiscally developing many destinations around the world. Furthermore, underdeveloped countries will generate sizable revenues, resulting in prospering businesses and an overall improved quality of livelihood. When taking these arguments into consideration, there is no doubt that universal tourism carries a greater amount of advantages than disadvantages for respective countries. To conclude from the aforementioned discussion, while some are under the impression that holidaymakers contribute to environmental pollution leading to worsening health outcomes for local inhabitants, others, myself included, firmly believe that they are vital to economic growth. From my perspective, the pros exceedingly outweigh the cons and with a fixed financial situation, the government and the community can mitigate some of these concerns.