Discuss advantages and disadvantages of children to make own choices

In this contemporary era, parents motivate children to make their decisions so that they can be independent and have a voice of their own. In this essay, we will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this development. To commence, the benefits of letting offspring make their choices are strengthening their decision-making skills and boosting their confidence. To elaborate, when children are given the opportunity to decide it would also make them accountable for the decisions that they make. Furthermore, it would also make them resilient from the failure of their choices which would enhance their analysing skills for their future choices. For example, a teenager is given the choice to spend their pocket money according to their needs. Thus, the above example vividly illustrates the pros for adolescents to make their own decisions. On the contrary, the shortcomings of this development are it would instil a fear of failure in them and make them dependent. To explicate, when kids decide what they want and fail in that specific decision the fear of failure would keep them stagnant in life and they would not be ready to face further challenges. Moreover, teenagers would look for help every time when deciding on something which would reinforce their need for dependence. To exemplify, a child’s past failure would convince him to seek help from others and would not make him independent. Hence, the aforementioned reason substantiates the drawbacks for teenagers to decide for themselves. In conclusion, the benefits for children to decide make them independent and their decision-making skills get stronger. However, deciding for themselves would create a sense of failure in them if they fail at any point and also would seek help from others increasing their need for dependence.