Nowadays a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicine and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The increase in alternative medicine could offer more options for patients while they struggle with many health conditions. Although some people believe that conventional medicine is more effective than alternative medicine, others believe that it is an additional treatment for them to improve their conditions. There are more negative reasons to treat with optional medication and it is important to visit doctors regularly. To begin with, there are many developments in alternative treatments for chronic diseases, but these treatments can be dangerous and cause severe complications for patients. Some people believe that herbal medicines can help them reduce pain and inflammation, but in fact, many herbal remedies may not be proven scientifically and can cause more issues. For example, patients with late-stage cancer using herbal supplements may have a critical condition due to toxicity to their kidneys and livers because the dosage of those drugs may not be approved by physicians or pharmacists. In addition, these complications will lead to more difficulties and severities in the treatment. Therefore, alternative medicine can be used under professional instructions by their physicians and patients should follow up on their status regularly. On the other hand, following the physician's recommendation and discussing the usage of optional medication are important factors for treating diseases. Many chronic diseases are complicated to diagnose and control the progression. Moreover, there are many complications associated with multiple body systems, and physicians should follow up on the progression of their patients. To improve patient healthcare, a combination of alternative medicine and complementary medicine could be more effective than using only optional medications, although patients should consult with their doctors before using them. For instance, patients with muscular disorders may be prescribed neurological therapy by their physician, and they are also treated with acupuncture. While these treatments could help them reduce pain and gain recovery to their muscles, they also should follow up on their treatment and report their results to their physicians. To conclude, using alternative medicine should be used under prescribed conditions and patients should follow their physician’s recommendations and follow up on their status regularly.