Nowadays, young people tend to rush into independence. Many of them leave home to study or work while still in their teens. Do you think it is positive or negative?

Compared to the past, the number of young generations who tended to be independent of their parents has been tremendously increasing these days. Even as the age is getting younger and younger, such early independence enables many teens to build up their self-confidence so that they can advance into society. However, I am concerned about several distinctive features that generate undesirable side effects to themselves. At first, youngsters’ hasty decisions are usually depicted as miserable risky situations. There must be various obstacles existing to sort out without any parental guidance or teachers’ advice. Accordingly, such unavoidable barriers definitely pressure them with a full amount of stress which is mostly out of their control. For instance, some teenage students who plan to study abroad require them burden sacrifice in terms of finance and tolerance over a long-term period. Unfortunately, adolescent children are too immature and clumsy to deal with it although, they are fully prepared for every single aspect in advance. Thus, I truly believe that a high possibility of their return to their parents is not a surprise at all and even worse, they might feel a deep frustration not overcoming their limits under tough circumstances. This is not the ideal consequence of early teen independence that we look for. Namely, they have the right to psychological support from their guardians until being grown-up enough to navigate their own journey. Nevertheless, this is not to say such independence is invariable negative to us. Imagine wild animals in zoos, especially the lions which are innated born with a hunting instinct, but are continuously fed on food by their breeders even in adults. This forced dependence will gradually fade out by taking up their own wildness in the end. Now, it can promptly apply to human beings, some younger generation who is raised up over sheltered, may not be given any opportunity to develop self-confidence. However, they can be inspired by the spirit of independence by leaving their home at an early age since this brave adventure will provide a solid foundation of their value with high self-esteem. For example, a gap year; taking work placement, can be an excellent chance for them to experience a realistic professional world direct, this determined attempt may be the beginning of their life expedition and they have just put the first step forward in the whole process. Therefore, they can perform all prospected tasks step by step, despite undergoing some failure but eventually, they will be proud of themselves with a genuine attainment. To sum up, although young teenager can build up their self-achievement through early independence from their parents, they still are not sufficiently resilient to sudden risks,especially in their early ten ages. Hence, more secure and proven guidelines should be introduced and trained to them.