Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to gentically modified crops to increase the productions of food grains. Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

Considering the rise in population in developing countries, scarcity of food has become a major concern these days. Although genetically modified crops surpass the shortage of food, it has a myriad of disadvantages. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons in the forthcoming paragraphs. Firstly, in order to meet the food needs of an individual, it is important to grow crops on a large scale. For instance, recent research has shown that in developed countries, people are struggling with the shortage of food. Secondly, with the help of advanced technology, growing crops on a large scale using less land has become very convenient for farmers. Now, they could easily fertilize the crops using less land. Also, the price will decrease if the supply will be adequate, and the final consumer will be able to consume it at less price. On the other hand, using crops which has been genetically modified is a serious concern in the long run. For example, people will suffer from health issues as they grow old because they will not get enough nutrition from artificially modified crops. Consequently, individuals will consume medicines to fulfil the nutritional value in their bodies. Furthermore, genetically modified fruits and vegetables cannot be stored outside and it requires a freezer to last for a few days which eventually gives birth to various diseases. Therefore, to sum up, it is important to grow crops artificially with the growing needs of the population. However, it may lead to health-related issues which cannot be neglected in the long run.