University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, university students often choose foreign higher education, looking for new experiences and better studying conditions. Nevertheless, studying abroad has certain drawbacks too. Evidently, studying abroad has more pros than cons, so this essay will elaborate on the topic and justify these views. The two main advantages of studying abroad are getting a new experience and new connections. Firstly, students in a foreign country get a new experience of living, such as using public transport, exploring a local culture, and tasting national dishes. This way, students get a better acknowledge of living there and become more self-relevant. Secondly, while studying abroad, students make new helpful acquaintances. For instance, for many young people who want to build a career in a field that is well-developed in another country, studying abroad is a good opportunity to meet colleagues. However, studying abroad also has several disadvantages, such as a language barrier and homesickness. Sometimes, students who can speak only English, when going to local places, might feel isolated, because not all local people understand English well. Consequently, it’s difficult to communicate and make connections. Furthermore, studying abroad may lead to homesickness and depression, which makes learning tough. For example, often young people who choose foreign higher education drop out of their studies and come back home, because they cannot bear the homesickness. To conclude, although studying abroad can cause homesickness and be tough because of the language barrier, getting new experiences and making connections are great reasons for going abroad. I believe that these benefits of foreign higher education outweigh its drawbacks.