Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative trend

Much debate has arisen as to whether the usage of mobile phones is in fact beneficial for youngsters. Indeed, inappropriate usage can cause long-term negative effects. Nevertheless, spending time online for schoolwork is necessary for teens. For example, senior students need to prepare for the entrance exam. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages and I will conclude with my personal opinion. To begin with, the benefits of electronics are numerous. It is undeniable that in contemporary society electronic devices plays an important role in our daily life. Children's exposure to programs at an early age can make them get used to high-tech gadgets, which certainly can benefit their further education. As an illustration, recently there has been an increasing number of children participating in computing competitions such as making robots, coding, and inventions relating to technologies. Moreover, kids who don't pay much interest in coding can still gain knowledge from various websites to satisfy their sense of curiosity. On the other hand, exposure of children to smartphones at a young age may cause youngsters to be addicted to these devices. In addition, the lack of adult supervision may be the cause of their inadequate usage as well. By the same token, without parental guidance young individuals can engage in inappropriate activities online. Worst case scenario young children could stumble upon sexual content and trigger their curiosity. To illustrate, recent studies show that unfortunately more than 80% of young children between the age of 8-12 that saw inappropriate content online, end up having early sex or unprotected sex. To summarize, my view is that cell phones can be beneficial to youngsters with parental guidance only. Of course, doctors and psychologists don't recommend children engage in online activities at such early ages. Given that children should be playing and developing in that phase.