Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is said that taking history lessons should be mandatory for university students. Admittedly, I completely agree with the statement given. Taking history courses can be beneficial for all students due to compelling reasons which be elaborated on in this essay. The most obvious reason justifying the obligatory history courses is that all university students should be aware of their nation's failures and achievements. The reason is that university graduates are more likely to occupy positions in which they have to decide on various important affairs, so having an understanding of similar circumstances helps them to make wiser choices. Take a previous political student who is now a foreign affairs officer for example; if he knows about the devastating effects that wars in past have had on the nation, he will prefer more peaceful options in nowadays conflicts. Furthermore, knowing about the past makes students more patriotic. That is, the more university student from all majors read about their ancestor's history, the more they tend to love their homeland and try to protect it. A good illustration of this is American engineering students who acquire information about the wonderful job that engineers did in World War 2 to preserve their people. This makes students more motivated to make a contribution to their country and become better employees whether they work as a programmer or a railway engineer. In conclusion, although many people think it is irrelevant that every university student should be obliged to take a history course, taking these courses has many advantages. Having more college graduates who love their country and respect the contribution of the previous generation is one of the benefits. Moreover, becoming more literate about history, former college students tend to perform better in their new roles as an employee.