In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is undeniable that in some cultures children are taught to input huge effort in order to achieve whatever they want. Even though there are significant benefits regarding school attendance, there are also some drawbacks to consider. On the one hand, one benefit regarding such matter may be the effective performance presented by children in the school environment, because youngsters can be able to achieve high grades after introducing themselves in a straight learning process. Consequently, children are predicted to achieve the required grades as well as raise their knowledge at school. For instance, it is known that 6 out of 10 Japanese students relate a more effective advantage of the learning curve at school after being enrolled by their parents in an integral education institution. On the other hand, one drawback related to over-effort experienced by children may be the lack of enthusiasm even after huge conquered, as they may probably develop some type of mental illness through such an overdemanding process. As a consequence, youngsters may not be able to enjoy entirely the results of their achievements. For example, it is estimated that 4 out of 10 Brazilian students developed Burnout syndrome after being exposed to a huge level of pressure by their tutors in one of the most renamed particular schools in São Paulo, which results in several children being harmed by this issue. To conclude even though a high level of effort may be helpful for some to achieve their goals, there are children who may suffer directly from this type of exposition. Ideally, such choices need to be made individually, by each parent as they have awareness about their herd and their personality.