Organizing tours to remote places and communities is becoming more and more popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment?

Nowadays, vising rural places is a trending option for tourists. While booming tourism grants the region greater enhancement in the economy, however, there are also some adverse impacts on the local residents and the environmental conditions. I thus believe this trend brings both beneficial and negative effects. Admittedly, a place with prosperous tourism is likely to have more job opportunities for local people, and this will eventually improve the local citizens’ living standards. This is because once a place gains attention from the public and attracts numerous visitors, it will lead to a huge need for workers who are familiar with local culture in multiple areas in order to provide better service to tourists. For instance, some local restaurants may need to hire extra workers to serve the high customer volumes coming from other places; while the region’s government is also prone to set public service positions, like guides, site illustrators, and tour bus drivers. In this way, the local unemployment rate will be decreased, and the residents will be more likely to afford the goods in the market. Therefore, due to the fact that offering quality services to visitors requires a large number of laborers, the region’s booming tourism will probably bring locals more income. Nevertheless, diverse drawbacks will be happened to the residents and environment due to the region’s popularity, including environmental degradation and a loss of traditions. When a place attracts numerous tourists, some environmental issues, such as air pollutants and plastic waste, are likely caused by excessive vehicle emissions and littering people. Some environmental problems may need the investment of a long period and large finances to restore, which could be a burden for some rural areas. Meanwhile, the large number of tourists might also harm the local traditions due to prejudice. For example, when some tourists laugh at rituals in remote places, the local people may start to feel shame themselves and gradually abandon some traditional habits, leading to a loss of people ’s sense of community. Thus, when a rural area attracts too many visitors, there are also some potential risks to their environmental conditions and people ’s cultures. To sum up, even though rural places becoming popular for tourists seems like an unstoppable trend, and this trend brings local people more job opportunities, it is also important for the region’s government to recognize the adverse effects of this trend. Perhaps limiting the annual number of visitors will help reduce the of environmental issues caused by tourism.