Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed rather than work for a company or organization. Why this might be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the current era, there are increasingly people deciding to be self-employed instead of working at some corporations. This trend is influenced by diverse considerations, especially the greater flexibility owned by freelance working mode. However, self-worker also faces potential risks, such as unstable income. This essay aims to discuss the causes behind this situation while also sharing my concerns about self-employers. People who choose to be self-employed are usually attracted by its flexible feature, as they believe it grants more options in working content and schedule. Unlike traditional workers that make contributions from certain specific positions at companies or groups, there are no limitations for freelance workers in office locations, workflows, and cooperation partners. For example, a self-employed person is able to work either online or in person, and he can make plans based on his own needs. In this way, individuals are more likely to enjoy a work-life balance life. In addition, freelance workers also hold the ability to choose the clients or tasks they’re interested in rather than being assigned by a supervisor from an organization. Therefore, the superiority of flexibility motivates people to be more inclined to be self-employed. However, working as a self-employed can’t ensure the individual has a stable salary, which may lead to a drop in living standards. Due to the fact that freelance workers have to look for clients selfly, there’s a possibility that sometime they have no case to work on. For instance, if a person decides to work as a freelance guide at a resort, then he may encounter fewer tourists at some specific time if compared with peak traveling seasons, while those guides served for some organizations will at least receive a basic salary no matter they have guests or not. In this way, to be self-employed means one endangers himself under the bankrupt potential. In conclusion, it is undeniable that self-employed enjoy greater flexibility in working mode. However, it is also important to recognize that this kind of working style is risky and will be particularly related to your average income.