Some people think there are not many things individuals can do to resolve environmental problems, while others believe that in order to tackle environmental problems individuals also need to take action. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Global pollution has become one of the major concerns of the last two centuries. Huge amounts of greenhouse gasses released by power plants, increased amount of traffic on roads and lack of recycling measures all contribute to the increased problems with the environment. Although some think that pollution is already out of human control, I would argue that if efforts are united, people will have great chances to combat ecological issues. To begin with, it is known that more than 40% of global pollution is caused by vehicles that run on fuel. Thus if every single person would consider public transport options over a custom car, the effects on the environment from private cars would reduce significantly. As an alternative, people can also switch to eco-friendly electrical vehicles, which do not produce any harmful gas. Recycling is also an efficient way to mitigate environmental problems. As a result of unsorted garbage, plastic and other harmful materials are being burned together with other wastes, releasing various poisonous substances into the air. This can be prevented by people sorting their garbage in accordance with the types of materials. For example, Sweden, which has one of the best air qualities in the world today, had already demonstrated itself as a model for an efficient recycling country. On the contrary, natural disasters, such as volcanic eruptions and forest fires inhibit all the efforts of humanity to fight against pollution. For instance, one incidence of a forest fire in California is known to cause the same damage to the environment as 50 coal plants in a year. However, natural events have happened for billions of years and since the existence of the Earth. Therefore, it is human activities that caused surges in environmental problems in recent decades. In a nutshell, the efforts of a single person to preserve the environment are no doubt minuscule. Yet if all the people get involved in the process, results will be rewarding.