In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is argued that in some nations owning a property is much more important than renting. This is mainly because owning a home gives a feeling of security, stability, and the freedom to renovate it. In my view, this is a positive development as homeowners can make money if they sell their houses in the future. To begin with, if people own their own home they do not have to worry about paying monthly rent and are less anxious about restrictions on decorating the interior. In other words, they tend to feel more stable and comfortable than if they were renting. This enables them to renovate and decorate their according to their desires, without the worry of a landlord complaining. For instance, recent research has shown that in the UK the vast majority of new homeowners feel that owning a home is an investment, so they spend most of their income on DIY projects, interior goods, and decorating. I believe that there is a huge advantage to owning a home because it is an investment where the value of the house increases every year. That is to say, when someone buys a house and installs a new kitchen, or bathroom, and redesigns the interior, the value of the property rises considerably. For example, in England people who rent their homes will never get that money back, whereas those who buy a property can sell it for a considerable profit after just a few years, even in a tough economic situation. In conclusion, owning a house or flat gives one a sense of security and the choice to redecorate. In my opinion, this is a great benefit because people who invest in their home can sell it later on at a profit.