As global trade increase, many goods including those we use in daily basis are produced in another country and have to be transport long distance. Do benefit of this trend outweigh disadvantages?

Different consumer products involving those that people consume on a daily basis are manufactured abroad and exported from countries that are located at a great distance as a result of globalization of trade. In my opinion, there are significant drawbacks to transporting goods which are produced overseas, with some minor benefits. One of the disadvantages of exported goods is its effect on local producers. Prices of different products vary across various countries, and local manufacturers put higher prices on essential goods to gain short-term profits. However, the local price of certain products often exceeds the world price, and as a result, people are inclined towards exporting goods from those who sell them cheaper. Consequently, local manufacturers suffer in the long run as they lose their old customers and fail to retain new ones. For instance, a few decades ago, many European countries lost their national advantage as China, which is now the world’s biggest exporter, cut the prices of some goods to make them much more attractive to both its own citizens, as well as to foreign consumers. Consequently, some major industries in Europe had to shut down their operations completely. The other disadvantage of global trade is the way that it impacts environmental stability. Transporting from foreign industries that are long-distance means that there should be more private delivery trucks to deliver a large number of ordered products. As the number of vehicles rises, there are much more hazardous gasses released into the air because of fossil fuels used for cars, which in turn damages the global environment and leads to issues such as climate change. On the other hand, there can be some small benefits to transporting long distance. Firstly, the variety of products available increases as trade allows access to global markets. If a country does not have the necessary raw materials to produce goods that are used daily, then individuals can obtain them by purchasing from others. Secondly, producers usually decrease home prices after they see a decline in their revenues as citizens stop buying from them, which in turn benefits individuals as they can enjoy lower prices. In conclusion, the rise in global trade has brought more drawbacks such as damaged local industries and increased environmental concerns, though benefits including fair prices and global access cannot be ignored.