Most major cities around the world continue to grow at a phenomenal rate due to the massive increase in population. This has led to a general decline in the quality of life in city areas as the environment becomes more crowded and polluted. Give some reasons why this growth has occurred and suggest some practical solutions to this problem.

Over the last few decades, the world has seen tremendous urbanisation to support its rising population. However, this growth has been tainted by a gradual reduction in quality of life due to significant pollution and overcrowding. In this essay, I will highlight the reasons for the uncontrolled expansion of cities and some viable solutions to this predicament Firstly, urban areas have high economic activity. They are either big financial hubs or have large manufacturing centres. Hence, they have more job opportunities compared to neighbouring small towns. This leads to a constant migration of people from rural to urban centres in search of a better financial future. To accommodate the pressures of this rising population these centres require vast upgrades to infrastructure like wider roads, new housing complexes and recreational areas. For example, ever since the Indian city of Patna was declared a special economic zone, its population has had a 40% increment and it has undergone a massive upgrade of its airports and railway stations. Hence, an increase in economic value and the subsequent exodus of job seekers often lead to the growth of a city. However, this expansion comes at the cost of a poor life quality. A possible solution to prevent this unchecked growth of cities is to have a balanced national development plan. Governments must ensure that industries are divided equally amongst rural and urban areas so that there are plenty of employment opportunities in the villages. This will significantly reduce the overpopulation of cities due to rural-urban migration and in turn, prevent unchecked, imbalanced expansion of city areas. To summarise, globally, big cities are constantly undergoing rapid urbanisation. the possible causes of this are the disproportionately high number of jobs in city centres and the subsequent rural-to-urban migration. To prevent this, countries must adopt a more balanced approach to development with equitable opportunities in both villages and city areas.