Nowadays there are more and more advertisements. Some people think that they have a nega- tive influence onpeople, and therefore should be restricted. Do you agree ordisagree?

Our lives are filled with advertisements everywhere. Whether you want to see it or not, there are always some advertisements popping up. There are some who believe that advertisements affect people in a negative way, and therefore should be limited. I partly agree with this perspective and in this essay, I shall discuss some negatives and positives of advertisement. On one hand, there are some advertisements that influence people negatively due to their inappropriate implications. Some advertisements, in order to attract publicity, use means that largely exaggerate the products. For example, some health care products advertised on TV allege that they help with diseases, while as a matter of fact, they are just normal nutrient products that should only be deemed as assistance in health care. In addition to exaggeration, misconceptions are another approach that the seller often uses to mislead people to buy or overvalue their products. People cannot easily tell or distinguish those overly exaggerated or misleading advertisements in our lives, thus those advertisements are considered inappropriate, or even harmful in some cases. On the other hand, advertisements have positive sides. In the fashion field, advertisements are vastly adopted to convey meanings and promote ideas in relation to design. Designers always demonstrate their designs through advertisements on different carriers. For example, a model that wears a dress from a designer appearing in a famous magazine that is published all over the world is a kind of advertisement that facilitate the commercial success of marketing the designer’s products. Moreover, there are also other kinds of beneficial advertisements such as charity advertisements, educational advertisements, and so forth. In my opinion, advertisements are not always negative, or positive. For negative advertisements, we should limit their publications of it in order to restrict their effects on children, and for positive advertisements, we need to develop them and extend their educational meanings. In conclusion, the perspective of restricting all advertisements is undoubtedly incorrect as there are not only downsides to advertisements but also upsides. Merchants or businessmen should carefully examine the advertisements they are to publish. For the people who watch or see the advertisements, they need to be able to distinguish the ‘right’ advertisements from the ‘wrong’ ones.