A country should spend money on skills training or vocational training for practical work, rather than on university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many today feel that countries should prioritize vocational training over higher education due to changes in the labour market. In my opinion, though there are strong economic reasons to support this idea, a university education holds more significant value. Those in favour of more practical skills training point out the financial benefits. Most academy graduates are burdened with student debt and face uncertain job prospects. In contrast, training schools are cheap and fast and ease students into steady employment immediately. The jobs they train for are also most likely recession-proof and durable, including positions as cooks, hotel managers, and skilled technicians. Someone firmly established in a job in their early 20s does not have to deal with the pressures of university life and its incumbent debts. Instead, they can begin to set aside money for a house or start a family. Nonetheless, lacking an educational institution degree limits one’s options. The work available will pay well initially and be secure but offer narrow scope for advancement and virtually no opportunity to switch career paths. On the other hand, an individual with a university degree might begin from a lower position but has a higher ceiling on future earnings. They can explore a variety of fields. The best task requires at least a bachelor’s degree, even for simple internship vacancies. Lacking such a degree means restricting oneself to manual labour or service industry jobs. The actual learning that takes place at the academy, particularly for those with multi-disciplinary majors or studying at liberal arts schools, also encourages students to consider a wide range of possible career options. In conclusion, increasing funding for vocational training is an attractive yet short-sighted approach that curbs possibilities. Governments should continue supporting higher education even in dark economic times to reap future rewards.