Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the Fourth Industrial Revolution era, the high sales of well-liked consumer goods do not necessarily reflect the actual needs of the society in which they are purchased but rather the influence of advertising. From my perspective, I totally agree with this statement because people are wasting money on merchandise that they do not need. First and foremost, social media is a part of human life. People use social media daily; therefore, it is a great opportunity for agencies to run campaigns for young children who want to be up-to-date. For instance, many luxury brands like Gucci, Prada, etc. When they release a new collection with a limited quantity, people rush to buy it, and it becomes a phenomenon called fear of missing out. Or some brands are using celebrities to advertise their products, which is aimed at young people who are interested in famous people. As a result, young children will be affected by advertising and buy goods that they do not need. Secondly, young people, especially teenagers, lack knowledge about how to spend wisely, which leads to extravagant spending. The main reason is that they imitate the behavior of their parents when spending money, which leads to their later habits. For example, if children see their parents buying a lot of goods, they will think it is a good habit and copy it, so parents should teach children how to use money when they are young. In addition, parents should prevent kids from buying luxury brands. If they use luxury brands too soon, there are many negative effects. As a consequence, children will spend less money if their parents teach them how to use money. Overall, I strongly agree that the high sales of popular consumer goods are affected by the power of advertising, and people are wasting their money on things that they do not really need. This could happen day by day if we do not control it.