Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recent investigations propose that, nowadays a lot of teenagers choose to stay in contact with their peers through technology platforms instead of having personal meetings. In my,opinion this is a real problem that we are facing because of the increasing access to smartphones and social media. To address this, there are a number of potential approaches from public policies to government actions. Of the many reasons why youth people go for online applications, perhaps the most influential is the technological evolution of this subject in the last few years. These apps are designed to be almost addictive, creating a need for the users to spend more and more time online, and not meet with their friends. This generates a fake feeling of real connections in which people can show just the best part of their life, and, in fact, show an invented version of themselves with the use of photo and video editing tools. This makes online interactions more attractive than face-to-face ones. Furthermore, through these social networks, people have the possibility to interact worldwide which makes it even more attractive. To address this, there are a number of potential approaches. One is, the development of public policies in order to include them in formal education. For example, workshops and lectures about the negative consequences that the excessive use of social media has, for instance in brain development. Additionally, the creation of rewarded extracurricular in-person activities, such as sports and art clubs, would promote social interaction. In the second place, the government should control technology companies demanding ethical design and development of their platforms. In conclusion, it is clear that there are several reasons for teenagers preferring socialization through online platforms. I believe this is a huge problem for us, and it seems the entire society needs to take action to change this trend, however, this can be achieved with education and the promotion of on-site social activities in addition to government control of technology companies.