In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. What problems is this causing? What measures could be taken to counter this situation?

In some areas worldwide, more and more traditional festivals and celebrations are vanishing. This phenomenon contributes to issues concerning cultural disintegration and should be countered by governments funding related organisations and citizens participating more in conventional practices. To commence with, the disappearance of local festivals and celebrations greatly concerns cultural diversity. Festivals and celebrations remind one of their derivation, identity and culture that once lost can result in the extinction of other cultural features such as languages, habits and perceptions as people may integrate with other prominent cultures. This disrupts the diverse spectrum of cultures around the world, leading to an environment where only few popular cultures exist. To illustrate, conventional practices among ethnic minorities in Vietnam are fading as fewer youngsters accept their ancestral cultural values. However, I believe we can prevail if global governments and citizens cooperate. First, companies and parties aiming at preserving cultures, especially at traditional celebrations, should be funded by global and local governments to stage more events which promote their traditions and connect people from different age groups of a community. In addition to that, with the help of advanced technology, younger people could prevent celebration vanishments by advertising their conventions online via social media and getting involved in festivals original to their country. In conclusion, conventional festivals and celebrations disappearing attenuate cultural richness. To tackle this, financial support should be provided for cultural preservation companies and youngsters should promote as well as engage more in traditional celebrations.