Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in case homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages or this trend?

The latest tendency for elderly people is to be taken into nursing homes where others could take care of them. There are advantages and disadvantages, both for the eldest and for their relatives. A lot of work should be done. Regarding the advantages, elderlies who are no more able to take care of themselves would benefit from being in a structure where they can be constantly looked after and assisted. In fact, those centres have nurses and doctors specialized in geriatric, who can help their hosts and be of assistance in a lot of major or minor conditions. It's a difficult work. Old people who need assistance could feel at ease by having experienced staff whom they are entitled to ask for both real help and little requirements. They would not have to bother to be annoying or overdemanding, as they could feel with children or other family members, who have a work. The relatives, on their side, ahould work and appreciate the re-gained freedom and the possibility to plan their time regardless of the practical and psychological pressure that was required by taking care of them. They need to work. On the other hand, there are some downsides. First of all, the elderly could feel abandoned and no longer loved, so they could fall into a depressive state and stop doing work that would undermine their ability to face even minor conditions or issues. The attempt of the family to ensure them a safe environment and some more professional care might be considered a simple excuse to get rid of them. Furthermore, the feeling of loneliness that they would experiment in the nursing home could be shared with other people in the same condition and create a chain of unhappiness. In addition, the same feeling of sadness could be felt by the family, who might struggle with a sense of guilt and, anyway, miss the presence of the relative in their life. In conclusion, given that this trend has positive and negative sides, every case requires a specific evaluation in order to determine whether or not the advantages overcome the disadvantages.