Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual asessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Nowadays the assessment of children's education has changed over a period of time. There was a trend, that schools assessed the student's performance based on the examination, but now has improved a lot by giving tasks and project work. I agree with this point and the detailed points given in this essay. First of all, the Indian education system is based on exam-oriented assessment. Hence, the children's parents and teachers are so keen to get good marks in their exams, but they are not bothered about whether they understand the particular subject or not. For instance, if the student well performed in the examination, but they don't have clarity the student is useless. Additionally, this will lead to underperformance, and they will not be able to relate to what they studied in the real world. This will major impact on their life, and to mitigate the same, the education system has to change. Secondly, there was recent change happened in most educational institutions and they adapt the culture to new ways of assessment of the student. They started giving the subject work on a regular basis, due to which the students actively participated, and they will learn with open minds so that they can actively remember the concept that they studied. For example, if they do the project work on the subject what they are learning will give them more understanding of what they do and have more confidence in what they learning. Furthermore, they have to collaborate with the students and they will learn how to work as a team. In conclusion, the formal examination is the one way to assess the student, and if not understand by the student what they studied is not helpful in their life. The project and subject work will helpful for them to shine in both their studies and career life. I completely agree with these points as the examination will give only the marks, but studying with practical experience will help in future.