Many people around the world use social media every day to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do you think the advantages outweighs the disadvantages?

Social media is becoming increasingly popular and it is used for various purposes. This writer argues that the benefits of connecting to other people and entertaining outweigh the disadvantages of addiction. The main benefit social media brings to users is keeping in touch with other people. Users can be able to text messages and make video calls whenever they have free time in other to connect and share stories with each other. This will reduce the chance of having depression and anxiety at work. Take Covid 19 as an example, during the breakdown, people cannot go out and meet other people face-to-face. Thanks to social platforms, they can connect to each other and reduce loneliness. However, some people believe that addiction is the main drawback of social media. Users spend hours in their rooms scrolling their phones, and reading new feeds without eating or sleeping. This may be true, but by doing sports and outdoor activities, they will be more active and easily stay out of social media. For instance, teenagers with Internet addiction are advised to do more physical activities, this method is effective and most teenagers take this activity as their new hobby. Another advantage of social media is it is a useful tool for entertainment. It provides users with various news, videos, movie recommendations and joining a group chat. This will help people relax and relieve stress after a long day of working and studying. For example, Facebook is a well-known social platform, it has many features and feeds to keep its users entertained. In conclusion, the benefits of entertainment and connecting with other people outweigh the drawbacks of addiction. It helps people chat with their friends and reduce stress.