The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and they shouldn’t waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Public libraries are designed mainly to supply various books and should not spend on expanding it by offering the latest technologies such the likes of computers, videos and DVDs. This essay will discuss that it is paramount that city libraries should provide books and paper references, however as young generations are more tech savvies it is also important to consider their preferences. Gone are the days when people in the past would go to the local library and just simply read books. As the world evolves, not all references can only be found on paper. Many of the students of today's generation, find that searching using computers is convenient. Some use gadgets such as laptops because it is portable and therefore can be brought anywhere. In addition, some people have different study styles. Some can study by physically reading and scanning pages of books and magazines, while others enjoy watching informative video clips. Thus, it is significant to cater for the needs of every public library's goers. Furthermore, providing computers aside from books does not have to be very hi-tech. In view of that fact, the public library is usually funded by the government. It is crucial to provide adequate and only the necessary technologies for every local's consumption. Also, constructing just enough space that can accommodate every library goers needs is of great value. Hence, putting up such an establishment for local people has to abide by its main purpose and that is to provide access to information. In summary, public libraries are important to the community. It does not have to be grand but it should have at least ample sources of information and can adjust to every consumer's needs.