Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Today, there are various inevitable challenges that foreigners face while living abroad. One of these is the language barrier, which is claimed to induce detrimental effects upon both the social and practical aspects of expatriates’ lives. From my point of view, I completely agree with the given statement. In this essay, the burdens brought upon foreigners by attempting to master a foreign language will be elaborated. First and foremost, many foreign residents are having a declining social life nowadays, as well as a deep sense of isolation. This is simply because native speakers perhaps look down on them whenever they try to articulate their thoughts in a different accent. After repeating multiple awkward social interactions with the same unwelcoming pattern, they reach a conclusion in which they feel incompetent, undesired or even unequal. In a country, such as America, the Egyptian population suffers from a high rate of social isolation due to the development of an overwhelming avoidant social behaviour, ‘The Egyptian Gazette’ reported. Second, professionals who happen to reside and work in a country that uses a different tongue usually suffer the most when it comes to their work aspects. They tend to regard themselves as inferiors at their workspace because miscommunications haunt them more often whenever they are urged to propose a solution or ask for sick leave. Admittedly, some employers provide cultural diversity inclusion programs to help them overcome these crippling, intrusive thoughts. However, it does not always address the problem, instead, it usually worsens and perhaps complicates the situation further. For example, a minority of people who had participated in such arrangements were enraged and furious because they were actually bullied rather than welcomed throughout those sessions. To conclude, it is evident that the hardships faced by those thriving outside their home countries are several, specifically in regard to their practical and social prospects. I hold the belief that these drawbacks are induced by the barrier language solely. In the future, viable solutions should be arranged in order to reach harmony and prosperity.