Some people think that as long as professional sportsmen and sportswomen are good players, their behaviour on and off the playing field is not importsnt. do you agree or disagree?

A good sportsperson can be a constant source of inspiration for millions of other people in the world therefore, their code of conduct plays an integral role in society. On that note, a segment of people opine that the behaviour of a sportsperson does not matter until they are performing well in the field whereas, another segment disagrees on the same. This essay will discuss both perspectives in forthcoming paragraphs and conclude with my opinion. To commence with, many people primarily focus on how well, a sportsperson is performing in the field, and if a player is good enough, people start liking them and do not bother about their behaviour. Furthermore, they presumed that their code of conduct can be a publicity stunt to come into the spotlight. For instance, a survey done by a sports magazine mentioned that 60 per cent of actions of a good player are done to gain attention. On the other hand, famous sports person earns good prestige and they become idols for many people. Their actions may influence their fans. To elaborate more, many young people follow them as their role models and try to copy them. therefore, if they misbehave in public, then their fan following will also start doing the same. Furthermore, people will gradually start disliking them if they repeat the same behaviour again and again. To conclude, I firmly agree that a person is primarily judged on their behaviour rather than their work. Therefore, behaving well is the most important thing one can do to maintain their prestige in public.