Today’s fresh food like vegetables or fruits travels thousands of miles from the rural areas or farms before it reaches customers in cities or urban areas. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is said that nowadays crops like vegetables and fruits are travelled a long distance from countries to purchasers in towns or cities. The reason is that farmland requires enormous space. I think this is a negative trend because fresh food might lose its quality and affect the environment. The cause of a long distance traveling fresh food is that growing crops generally need a lot of space, so it makes sense that farmers need to grow their crops in the countryside because these places have much land with good quality soil, so crops can grow well and get effective results. I feel that it may affect the quality of crops if farmers have to spend too much time on transport. This is a natural of fresh vegetables or fruits since their quality can be good within a limited time. For instance, strawberry is a sensitive fruit and requires much effort. If farmers were careless about this problem, it could destroy before arriving customers. In addition, it can affect the environment along the way. Farmers might use cars or other means of transport, so the carbon released from those transports can lead to air pollution. It is not only bad for our breath but also pollutes the air. In conclusion, the reason for this trend is that most crops are grown in countries and should be traveled and sold in cities. I believe this is a negative development as that food might lose the quality and nutrients, and it can lead to air pollution.