Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Young people take several hours to use their phones on a daily basis. I personally believe this trend is both positive and negative. Due to the development of technology and an increase in applications, there are more and more social networking sites, videos and electronic games which attract children to watch and play. Another reason is their parent is too busy with a huge workload and deadline which leads to make less time for their kids such as doing outdoor activities or chatting with them. There are two major drawbacks of children spending long hours on their screen time. The first drawback is that affects children's communication abilities. They are often in contact with their friends through an internet-connected smartphone instead of meeting in person, therefore leading to discourage real interaction and express their emotions. Another drawback is children who spend too much time watching videos from websites or apps might cause eyestrain and suffer from various health problems such as obesity, depression and social isolation. Despite the negatives mentioned above, using a smartphone brings a wide range of benefits. Firstly, children have chances to learn various knowledge from huge beneficial information sources. Take my nephew as an example, he has been improving his English skills due to watching many Western cartoon movies from some channels on YouTube. It is a great way to learn naturally foreign languages without learning vocabulary and grammar from textbooks. Secondly, children can make friends from all over the world which can help them to expand their friendship network or share any hobbies in which they are interested In conclusion, thanks to the prevalence of technology children's time for technological devices is much greater and the use of mobile phones has both beneficial and detrimental effects.