Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, some secondary schools have international news as one of the school subjects. Regarding this, some people think that it is time-consuming since students already have hectic study schedules. However, other individuals insist that learning global news is beneficial for children. I am largely in agreement with the latter view since it helps children to broaden their knowledge and opportunities for jobs in the future. To begin with, some people think that secondary school students are very busy because they have a variety of subjects to study hard such as science, math, geography, second languages, arts, and many more. So, they do not have enough time to learn about international news as another subject. For instance, in South Korea, a majority of secondary students take a lot of classes to go to prestigious universities with the exception of global news. After taking classes, they usually go to academics to develop their knowledge in more detail. According to the news, Korean students normally study 12 hours every single day. This means secondary children already spend hectic life of study and learning another subject is a waste of time. Nevertheless, studying international news as a subject is essential for children. First of all, it can help children to broaden their knowledge dramatically. If students study global news, they can learn about various kinds of topics such as education, economy, cultures and political issues. This will very help children to broaden their horizons professionally. Moreover, when secondary students choose their majors in universities or jobs in the future, it will definitely allow them to widen their opportunities. Many students who studied global news have wide perspectives and information. It eventually leads them to choose their majors and jobs more globally. To sum up, some individuals reckon that secondary students do not have time to learn global news due to their hectic schedules. However, I strongly believe that it plays an important role in improving their knowledge and chances of jobs in the future.